CENTA Standards

The CENTA Standards form the basis for the CENTA Certificates. The CENTA Standards are a well-defined set of expectations for teachers at different stages of their careers, have been developed through a rigorous process and are meant to evolve continuously.

The CENTA Standards correspond to the three levels of the CENTA Certificates

L1  : New Teacher.  Typically relevant for teachers who are in the early stages of their career or are yet to begin their professional career.

L2   : Experienced Teacher. Typically relevant for teachers with 3-10 years of experience, who are able to enrich their teaching based on their own experiences and other inputs.

L3  : Senior Teacher. Typically relevant for teachers with more than 10 years of experience; such teachers may often be in a position to assume the role of a specialist teacher in their chosen subject/grade level or a coach where they mentor other teachers or a leader in the School or beyond.

The CENTA Standards cover: (A) 'Competencies , and (B) 'Mindsets . The 'Competencies' section of the CENTA Standards covers three categories of competencies for Teachers:

Technical Competencies

Competencies specific to teaching as a profession

Core Competencies

Fundamental competencies of an individual

Professional Competencies

Competencies relevant for effective interactions in a professional environment

Each category has multiple competencies, with each 'competency' having one or more 'aspects' associated with it. For each aspect, standards have been defined for each of L1, L2 and L3 through specific 'descriptors' highlighting the competency expectations from the teachers of the respective level.

The 'Mindsets' section of the CENTA Standards covers attitudes and beliefs. The assessment towards the CENTA Certificates currently looks at these only in a limited and experimental manner, whereas the Competencies are assessed in detail and form the basis for the Certification.